2009 John Burrows Memorial Match | Gallery | Shenfield CC
Club Logo (cockerel)

Shenfield Cricket Club

Established 1921

Members of the Shepherd Neame Essex League

(The ECB accredited Premier League of Essex)

Affiliated to the Club Cricket Conference

2009 John Burrows Memorial Match

31st August 2009. John Burrows Memorial Match, played at Hutton

This was the first of what is to be an annual event in memory of our late President, to be alternately played at Hutton and Shenfield. Ron Grief, President of Hutton and long term friend of John, kindly instigated this fitting tribute and provided the Amity Trophy.

For once, the Bank Holiday weather was glorious and there was a good turnout of spectators who saw some very fine cricket played, particularly by Hutton. In this 40 over match Hutton scored 273-3, Shenfield 185 all out. Hutton's Jason Paterson scored 157 not out and bowler Danny Cocklin got 5-30.

Hutton deservedly won the Amity Trophy, but no doubt Shenfield will be trying harder to win it next year!

Premium sponsor